Saturday, May 8, 2021
Home SPORT Hockey Manpreet, Rani in race for HI awards

Manpreet, Rani in race for HI awards

Harmanpreet Singh, Mandeep Singh, captain Manpreet Singh and Surender Kumar would be vying for boasting rights as the best Indian hockey player for the year 2019 and a purse of ₹ 25 lakh at the 3rd Hockey India awards to be held here on Sunday.

The nominations for the annual awards were announced on Tuesday. While the men would be competing for the Dhruv Batra Player of the Year (male), among the women, Deep Grace Ekka, drag-flicker Gurjit Kaur, captain Rani and goalkeeper Savita Punia have been nominated for the Player of the Year award.

The awards, for excellence in 2019 and overall contribution to the game, have a total prize money worth ₹ 1.30 crores and a trophy in each section.

The Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award carries a cash prize of ₹ 30 lakh while the Jugraj Singh Upcoming Player of the Year (Men) and Asunta Lakra Upcoming Player of the Year (Women) would get cash prizes of ₹ 10 lakh each.

Individual awards in each department — best forward, midfielder, defender and goalkeeper — carry a cash prizes of ₹ 5 lakh each.

The biggest of them would be the Lifetime Achievement award, to be announced on the day of the event, carrying a prize purse of ₹ 30 lakh and trophy.

The nominees: Player of the Year (male): Harmanpreet Singh, Mandeep Singh, Manpreet Singh, Surender Kumar.

Player of the Year (female): Deep Grace Ekka, Gurjit Kaur, Rani Rampal, Savita Punia.

Upcoming Player of the Year (Under-21 male): Dilpreet Singh, Gursahibjit Singh, Mandeep Mor, Vivek Sagar Prasad.

Upcoming Player of the Year (Under-21 female): Lalremsiami, Salima Tete, Sharmila Devi.

Forward of the Year: Lalit Upadhyay, Mandeep Singh, Navneet Kaur, Rani Rampal.

Midfielder of the Year: Manpreet Singh, Monika, Neha Goyal, Vivek Sagar Prasad.

Defender of the Year: Deep Grace Ekka, Harmanpreet Singh, Surender Kumar, Varun Kumar.

Goalkeeper of the Year: Krishan Pathak, PR Sreejesh, Rajani Etimarpu, Savita Punia.

Jhaman Lal Sharma Award for Invaluable Contribution: TBA.

President’s Award for Outstanding Achievement: TBA.

Lifetime Achievement Award: TBA.

You have reached your limit for free articles this month.

To get full access, please subscribe.

Already have an account ? Sign in

Show Less Plan

Subscription Benefits Include

Today’s Paper

Find mobile-friendly version of articles from the day’s newspaper in one easy-to-read list.

Faster pages

Move smoothly between articles as our pages load instantly.

Unlimited Access

Enjoy reading as many articles as you wish without any limitations.


A one-stop-shop for seeing the latest updates, and managing your preferences.

Personalised recommendations

A select list of articles that match your interests and tastes.


We brief you on the latest and most important developments, three times a day.

*Our Digital Subscription plans do not currently include the e-paper ,crossword, iPhone, iPad mobile applications and print. Our plans enhance your reading experience.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Indian Staffing Market will be the largest market in the world, today the industry is an over 6 billion dollar industry, says Mr Sultan...

Mumbai: According to Mr Sultan Khan, Founder & Director of EaseConnect HR Services Pvt. Ltd. Indian Staffing Market will be the largest market in...

HSE Interview Questions & Answers

What is Safety? The condition of being protected from or unlikely to cause danger, risk, or injury is Called Safety. What is the accident? It is an...

Putham Pudhu Kaalai trailer: Five Tamil filmmakers bring five stories of love in the time of Covid-19

The trailer of Amazon Prime’s upcoming Tamil film Putham Pudhu Kaalai was unveiled on Monday by filmmaker Mani Ratnam and composer A.R Rahman. Tamil...